Second Avenue 
United Methodist Church
Office 706-234-6406
Pastoral Care 404-759-4778
801 E. Second Avenue
Rome, GA 30161
HomeHappenings About UsStructureChildren's Ministry StaffDonateFind Us

About the Structure of Second Avenue UMC

Second Avenue UMC One Board:
At Second Avenue, ​One Board serves as the administrative body and replaces the previous structure of Administrative Council, Finance Committee, Staff Parish Relations Committee, and Board of Trustees. It meets on a regular basis (8 times a year) with the pastor and decides on administrative matters that the Administrative Council, Finance Committee, Staff Parish Relations Committee, and Board of Trustees have done all at once instead of having separate meetings as committees. 

Why One Board?
(1)The administrative structure exists to support the ministry of church. Its work is important because it supports the ministry but it can also become cumbersome and inefficient. One Board addresses our need to have efficient, accountable church leadership while getting more people involved in mission and ministry instead of committees. It also frees up the pastor, the lay leader, and other leaders for ministry from meetings.  

(2) In a small congregation like Second Avenue, the nominations report has too many positions to fill. We have been shifting people from one area to another without real impact in the ministry of the church. 

So Second Avenue UMC has voted to adopt this One Board model in September, 2019. 

2023 Nominations Report (Voted in Oct. 2022)
By Nominations Committee (Darlene Wallace, Cindy Smith, Beth Colombo, Vicki Thomason, Carol Edwards, Amy Astin, Rev. Millie Kim)

Staff Liaison: Susan Pierce (Worship)
Deaconess: Susan Stroup 
Lay Leader: Amy Astin
Class of 2023: Jane Franssen(SPR), Terry Clift (President, T), Steve Davis (T)
Class of 2024: Greg Gaston (F, T), Cindy Smith (F, UMW), Mike Colombo(SPR)
Class of 2025: Isaac Tucker (SPR), Dennis Urquhart (T), Wayne Wilke(T)

Trustees Chair: Wayne Wilke
SPR Chair: Mike Colombo
Finance Chair: Greg Gaston